Home
About CHEA
Support CHEA!
Helpful Articles on Home schooling issues
Resources
LINKS to Homeschool Resources!
Home School News
Conferences/Events
Wisconsin Information
Wisconsin Home School Sports
WI Home School Law
Speech and Debate
Wisconsin Homeschoolers in the News!

HOME SCHOOL LAW

In Wisconsin, the applicable Home School Statute is Wis. Stat. Ann. 118.15 (4), 118.165 (c).
Compulsory Attendance Ages: "between the ages of 6 and 18 years." [6 by September 1 (118.14).]

Required days of instruction: "at least 875 hours of instruction each school year." [Wis. Stat. Ann. 118.15 (4); 118.165 (c).]

Required subjects: Reading, language arts, math, social studies, science, and health. [Wis. Stat. Ann. 118.165 (d).]

Teacher qualifications: None required.

Standardized Tests: None required.

Definition: A "home-based private educational program" is a program of educational instruction provided to a child by the child's parent or guardian or by a person designated by the parent or guardian. An instructional program provided to more than one family is not a home-based private educational program. [Wis. Stat. Ann. 115.001 (g)]

By October 15 each year the parents must submit a statement of enrollment to the department of education, indicating whether the home school meets all the requirements under Wis. Stat. Ann. 118.165. [Wisc. Stat. Ann. 115.30 (3)]

"Instruction in a home-based private educational program that meets all of the criteria under 118.165 (1) may be substituted for attendance at a public or private school." [118.15 (4)]

The 118.165 (1) criteria are as follows:

1. "primary purpose of the program is to provide private or religious-based education,"

2. "the program is privately controlled,"

3. the program provides at least 875 hours of instruction,

4. the program "provides a sequentially progressive curriculum of fundamental instruction" in the required subjects (which "does not require the program to include in its curriculum any concept, topic, or practice in conflict with the program's religious doctrines," or exclude any such topic), and

5. the program is not operated to circumvent the compulsory attendance law.

The state Department of Instruction issues the

Form PI-1206 to be filled out by the parent/guardian. This is the form that must be filed with the state every school year.

To obtain the Form PI-1206 on Home Based Private Instruction, please call the State Department of Public Instruction at 1-888-245-2732 and leave a request on their answering machine. Or write to: The Department of Public Instruction, Division for School Financial Resources and Management Services, 125 South Webster Street, P.O. Box 7841, Madison, WI 53707.

To access the Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction website where you can view the

Form PI-1206, and more, click here.

HOME SCHOOL LEGAL
DEFENSE ASSOCIATION

 

For more information on HSLDA, including Wisconsin updates, membership information (remember that when you support Wisconsin CHEA, you receive $20 off the membership to HSLDA), and much more, please click here.

 



(C) Copyright 2004
Last updated
5/2/2007 9:28 PM